Week of Nov. 27 – Patti LaBelle’s Sweet Potato Pie, homemade

Ever since I saw this Buzzfeed video about Patti LaBelle’s Sweet Potato Pie, my tastebuds started getting curious about how this pie would taste like. The Walmart up here in Vancouver does not carry this pie nor am I willing to pay for the shipping fees involved in importing this pie to my very doorstep. So the next appropriate step would be to make it myself!

dscf1146

Luckily for me, I found this recipe on Epicurious. A few of the other cooking websites have this similar recipe when you Google Patti LaBelle’s Sweet Potato Pie so you know the recipe is legit. Honey, this pie is so goddamned delicious that I wish I didn’t give the whole pie away to my friend.

I botched the recipe a few times, procedural-wise but IT STILL CAME OUT GREAT. The filling was supposed to be pureed by a food processor but I just mashed everything together with a fork. I buttered the top of the crust when I wasn’t supposed to. I was supposed to let the crust cool before pouring in the filling but I poured the filling in right away. I was supposed to let the pie cool for at least half an hour before cutting into it but I cut into it ten minutes after I pulled it out of the oven.

dscf1150

Despite it all, the pie came out great. It was delicious, sweet and the nutmeg was strong in this one – but in a good way. I’ve never had sweet potato pie before so this was a first and boy, am I a convert! I was never really a big fan of pumpkin pie so I think I’ll be making sweet potato pies for the Fall holidays from now on.

dscf1147

The filling is jam-packed with stuff but has a very melt-in-your-mouth texture. The brown sugar baked on the crust, which I believe is the secret to this pie, added a layer of flavour and sweetness to the pie.

I love this pie. I want to make more of it.

Leave a comment