Week of Jan. 1 – Peaked Chunky Steak and Mushroom Pie

Back on schedule, kids! Pie of the week is a savoury pie from Peaked Pies. I went there on Saturday evening with my friends, and I ordered the Chunky Steak and Mushroom pie. Peaked Pies first branch is actually in Whistler, BC but they recently opened their Vancouver branch just before the new year. I was quite excited as I followed the journey on their Instagram account.

pp1

Peaked Pies is famous for “peaking” their pies. At first glance, you see the pie as having matcha ice cream on top of a scoop of vanilla ice cream with chocolate drizzle down it buuuuut no. It’s actually mushy peas on top of mashed potatoes with gravy!

pp3

YUM YUM YUM, is all I can say with this pie. The crust was absolutely deliciously flaky and it held the filling in while keeping it’s shape so well. You know it’s a tried and true recipe when you can replicate it thousands of times! It had to be my most favourite part of the pie.

pp2

Honestly, though, I feel that “peaking” the pie really overshadowed the filling 😦 I didn’t get as much mushroom as I had hoped but I did get a hefty amount of meat! HOWEVER, I quite enjoyed the mushy peas 😀 They’re mushy, yet chunky, and the super smooth mashed potatoes were delicious as well. The gravy completed the whole dish! I didn’t expect peas and gravy to go together but they did! That day, I learned 🙂

pp

I really would love to go back to Peaked Pies and try The Hopper and their Apple Crumble. Kangaroo meat intrigues me and I love myself apples with cinnamon and sugar :3

Leave a Reply

