Week of Jan. 8 – Chocolate Megpies

LATE. BUT AT LEAST IT’S GOIN’ UP.

Honestly, I just ran out of time for pie last week so I bought something that had “pie” in it’s name. I went to Starbucks for a tea run and I per-chanced upon these Megpies! They’re hand pies! If anything, they look like adult, locally-sourced Pop Tarts, and guess what? They taste like it too!

img_0387

I bought the Chocolate Megpie and it wasn’t super sweet at all. The crust was extra flaky and buttery, in terms of the hand pie/tart crust. However, I felt like the filling to crust ratio was too low. Not enough filling, too much crust. I wanted more chocolate! I couldn’t even really taste a lot of the chocolate 😦 Even the icing… I felt a bit jipped.

img_0390

I don’t think I’ll be buying anymore Megpies soon but I’m sure that if I bought them from New York, where they’re originally from, that I’d fall in love with them.

Leave a Reply

